52 Weeks of YES: HAND & FOOT REFLEXOLOGY (WEEK 5)

About a week ago, I received an email of August specials from a Wellness Center that I frequent from time to time.  They were having a special on Hand & Foot Reflexology.  The description read:

“Reflexology promotes relaxation, reduces stress, improves circulation, detoxifies and revitalizes the whole body, stimulates emotional release and releases pain.”

That sounded like a whole lot of “healing” in a hand/foot massage, but I was down to give it a try.  The massage therapist told me that Reflexology is an Eastern practice.  The premise is that there are areas of the hands and feet that correspond to areas of the body.  By applying pressure to certain areas of my hands and feet, I can experience relief in the corresponding part of the body.  I wasn’t 100% convinced, but was open to the experience.

20170803_171501

20170803_165048

As she did her thing, she would ask if my hands or feet were sore or tender as she touched certain areas.  To my surprise, each time I said yes.  Then, she would go about manipulating those areas.  I learned that each of the areas corresponded to my shoulders and neck, where I happen to carry the most tension in my body (my shoulders and neck are ALWAYS sore).  Well let me tell you, when I got up from that massage table, it felt like a physical weight had been lifted.  There was NO tension or tightness in my neck or shoulders.  It was shocking. Being the skeptical, overly-analytical person that I am, none of this made rational sense to me.  Yet and still, I felt so much lighter and so relaxed.

20170803_171810

*Me, feeling good after the reflexology. Had the perfect message on my shirt, Free Your Mind.

Would I do this again?  Absolutely.  Would I recommend it?  Absolutely.

So, what’s my new experience gonna be next week?  You’ll just have to wait and see.

“There comes a day when you realize turning the page is the best feeling in the world, because you realize there is so much more to the book than the page you were stuck on.” — Zayn Malik

52 Weeks of YES: week 1 – ziplining; week 2 – mani-pedi; week 3 – firing range; week 4 – indoor skydiving; week 5 – reflexology

Leave a Reply

