52 Weeks of Yes: FIRING RANGE (week 3)

If this were a movie, I’d have the music from that Clint Eastwood western playing in the background…

 

I’d slowly walk into the scene, with guns in both holsters.  I’d stop in the center of the frame, feet spread shoulder width apart.  I’d slowly reach for my gun, then grab it quickly, and shoot.  Pow!  Man down.  Then, I’d put the gun back in the holster, turn around, and walk away from the camera as swagalicious as I came in.  Fade to black.

Well, my first experience shooting a gun didn’t quite happen like that…

I have a co-worker who is an experienced shooter (shout-out to KC!), having been shooting at ranges and in competitions for about 6 years now.  So, I asked her to go with me to a firing range.  I’d never done it before, so why not give it a go?  Honestly, I started to get really nervous when we were put in a lane.  I watched her take a few shots first, which made me even more nervous.  The 9mm was so loud and the recoil made her body jerk a bit.  All I could think was please don’t drop this gun when the shot goes off.  Hold onto the gun, no matter what!  So when it was finally my turn, I focused on my target (using the gun’s sight alignment), aimed, and shot.  The recoil wasn’t as bad as I thought it was gonna be.  In fact, my first two practice shoots were pretty good if I do say so myself.

20170723_152542

 

When I got a smile and a thumbs up from one of the guys who worked there, my nervousness started to turn to a little excitement.  I began switching out posters to find more challenging targets.  I even got better at loading my bullets in the magazine, inserting the magazine in the gun, and pulling and releasing the slide to chamber a full round.  I could get used to this.

20170723_131326

 

 

So, what’s my new experience gonna be this week?  You’ll just have to stay tuned and see…Hint: Up, up, and away.

But better die than live mechanically a life that is a repetition of repetitions.”  — D.H. Lawrence

 

Leave a Reply

