52 Weeks of Yes: MANI-PEDI (week 2)

Stop right there.  I know what you’re thinking.  A mani-pedi?  Really, girl?!  Don’t judge me.  NO, I’ve never set foot in a nail salon to get my fingernails or toenails “did”.  Why, you might ask? First of all, I’ve never been a frou frou girly-girl.  Sometimes I paint my fingernails and sometimes I don’t.  Having painted nails has never been an end-all be-all for me.  I generally paint my toenails during the spring and summer months due to sandal/flip-flop season, but other than that — not so much.  Second of all, I’m cheap frugal.  I watch my dollars and cents like a hawk.  Necessities usually trump luxuries.  My philosophy has always been why pay for something you can do yourself?

However, since I’m throwing myself head-first (in this case, hands and feet first) into new experiences, I decided to step into the world of nail salons.   As a birthday gift for my sister, I decided to treat us both to mani-pedis.

Walking into the salon, I’m immediately smacked in the face by the aroma of chemicals.  Am I going to be able to stay in this non-ventilated room without becoming ill?  Surprisingly, my body adjusts and after awhile I barely notice it anymore.  I started with the pedicure.  I cannot tell a lie.  It was pretty amazing.  I almost fell asleep in the remote-controlled massage chair twice.  As the technician applied scrub, mask, and lotion to my legs and feet, I lapsed into a state of supreme relaxation.  When she finished painting my toenails, I did not want to get up from that chair!

 

20170715_144514.jpg

Then, I was off to the manicure station.  The manicure wasn’t as relaxing, but it produced great results.  My nails came out fantastically. Although I decided to forego the acrylic application, I did get the gel coating so that my polish would last longer.

 

20170715_152505.jpg

Overall, I was beyond pleased with this new experience.  Having endured a full and hectic work week, it was a welcomed treat.  Like myself, many women work extremely hard, but don’t take the time to indulge in any form of self-care.  We go, go, go without any reward for our efforts.  This isn’t how I want to go about my life so I’ll most definitely indulge myself again for a few hours of pampering.  As the L’Oreal tagline states, “Because I’m worth it.”

So, what’s my new experience gonna be this week?  You’ll just have to stay tuned and see…Hint: Bang, Bang.

“It’s a sad day when you find out that it’s not accident or time or fortune but just yourself that kept things from you.” — Lillian Herman

Leave a Reply

